Keynote Speakers

Iqbal Husain (Fellow, IEEE)

ABB Distinguished Professor, NC State University

Director, FREEDM System Center, NCSU Raleigh, USA

Iqbal Husain (Fellow, IEEE) received his Ph.D. in electrical engineering from Texas A&M University in 1993. He currently serves as the Director of the FREEDM NSF Engineering Center and holds the prestigious position of ABB Distinguished Professor in the ECE Department at NC State University, Raleigh, NC, USA. Prior to joining NC State, he was associated with the University of Akron, Akron, OH, USA. He has been recognized for his academic contributions as a Fulbright Scholar in several Australian institutions in 2022 and as a Visiting Professor with Oregon State University, Corvallis, OR, USA, in 2001. Prof. Husain's research interests encompass power electronic system integration into the power grid and transportation electrification with wide bandgap power electronic devices and permanent magnet & reluctance machine drives. He has developed graduate and undergraduate courses on electric and hybrid vehicles and authored the textbook "Electric and Hybrid Vehicles: Design Fundamentals." He has been honored with numerous awards, including the 2023 Outstanding Engagement Award and the 2022 Alcoa Distinguished Engineering Research Award at NC State, the 2022 IEEE-IAS Outstanding Achievement Award, the 2006 SAE Vincent Bendix Automotive Electronics Engineering award, the 2004 College of Engineering Outstanding Researcher award, the 2000 IEEE Third Millennium Medal, and the 1998 IEEE-IAS Outstanding Young Member award. He became an IEEE Fellow in 2009 and served as the Editor-in-Chief of the IEEE Electrification Magazine.

Emil Levi (Fellow, IEEE)

Liverpool John Moores University, UK

Emil Levi (Fellow, IEEE) received the M.Sc. and Ph.D. degrees in electrical engineering from the University of Belgrade, Belgrade, Yugoslavia, in 1986 and 1990, respectively. He joined Liverpool John Moores University, U.K., in May 1992 and has been a Professor of Electric Machines and Drives since September 2000. He served as a Co-Editor-in-Chief of the IEEE Transactions on Industrial Electronics from 2009 to 2013. Currently, Dr. Levi holds the positions of Editor-in-Chief of the IEEE Transactions on Industrial Electronics and Editor-in-Chief of the IET Electric Power Applications. Dr. Levi has received several prestigious awards, including the Cyril Veinott Award of the IEEE Power and Energy Society for 2009 and the Best Paper Award of the IEEE Transactions on Industrial Electronics for 2008. He was honored with the “Outstanding Achievement Award” from the European Power Electronics Association in 2014 and the “Professor Istvan Nagy Award” from the Power Electronics and Motion Control Council in 2018. He is also a Foreign Member of the Serbian Academy of Engineering.

Milos Manic (Fellow, IEEE)

President of the IEEE Industrial Electronics Society (IES)

Milos Manic is currently the President of the IEEE Industrial Electronics Society (IES) and a professor with the Computer Science Department at Virginia Commonwealth University and is the director of the VCU Cybersecurity Center. He is also a Commonwealth Cyber Initiative Fellow, inaugural class 2020-2022. As a principal investigator or university partner, he has completed more than 40 research grants with the departments of Energy, Homeland Security, Air Force, Battelle Energy Alliance/Idaho National Laboratory, National Science Foundation, and industry entities, in the area of data mining and machine learning applied to cybersecurity, critical infrastructure protection, energy security, and resilient intelligent control. Manic has given over 40 invited talks around the world, authored more than 200 refereed articles in international journals, books, and conferences, holds several U.S. patents and won the 2018 R&D 100 Award for Autonomic Intelligent Cyber Sensor (AICS), one of top 100 science and technology worldwide innovations in 2018. He is also an inductee of U.S. National Academy of Inventors (class of 2019). He is an IEEE Fellow, recipient of IEEE IES 2019 Anthony J. Hornfeck Service Award. He also received the 2012 J. David Irwin Early Career Award and 2017 IEM Best Paper Award. He served as associate editor of Trans. on Industrial Electronics, was a founding chair of IEEE IES Technical Committee on Resilience and Security in Industry, and a general chair of IEEE IECON 2018, IEEE HSI 2019.

Gourab Majumdar (Senior Fellow, IEEE)

Mitsubishi Electric Corporation, Japan

Gourab Majumdar received Bachelor of Technology degree in electrical engineering from Indian Institute of Technology (IIT), Delhi, India in 1977 and Doctor of Engineering degree from Kyushu Institute of Technology (KIT), Japan in 2005. He came to Japan in September 1978, and has been living in the country since then. He started his job career at Mitsubishi Electric Corporation, Japan (Mitsubishi Electric) on a special OJT program in September 1978. He was employed by the same company in 1980 and, since 1983, has worked in its units responsible for advanced power semiconductor development, designing and application. From April-2012 to March-2017, he served as Executive Fellow, Semiconductor & Device Group of Mitsubishi Electric. On April-2017, he was reemployed by Mitsubishi Electric on a contract basis and acted as Senior Fellow (Technology) for Semiconductor & Device Group of the same company until March-2021. From April-2022 until currently, he has been working as Senior Fellow for Power Device Works of Mitsubishi Electric. He has published and co-authored many technical papers and books on power semiconductor devices and holds several patents in the related fields. He is a recipient of the prestigious National Invention Award in Japan in 2005 for invention of the fundamental concept of IPM (Intelligent Power Module) and has also received several other prestigiouscawards, including the “Monozukuri Nihon Taishou” (Japan Craftsmanship Grand Prix) award from the Ministry of Economy, Trade and Industry in 2013 for contribution in development and commercialization of various versions of IPM devices. He served as the General Chairman of ISPSD 2013 and has been participating as a member of PCIM's Advisory Board and ISPSD's Advisory Committee. He received IEEE-ISPSD Contributory Award in 2017 for playing an active role in the field of Intelligent Power Module and Power IC technologies and contributing largely to the ISPSD. He was nominated to be one of the first 32 inductees to IEEE-ISPSD Hall of Fame for his pioneering global role in progressing IGBT and IPM technologies and was awarded the prestige in May 2018. He was promoted to IEEE Fellow in 2021. He lectured courses on advanced power semiconductor devices as a visiting professor at Kyushu University and Tokyo Institute of Technology (TIT) for several years till 2019. Also, he has been bestowed with Honorary Professorship in 2016 by Amity University, India.